The parish of Brislington was part of the Keynsham Hundred,
Brislington is also near to the site of the now demolished chapel of St. Anne's-in-the Wood actually located in nearby St Anne's, erected by one of the Lords de la Warr, whose family held the manor of Brislington from the late 12th to the mid-16th century; in the 15th century the chapel was a place of pilgrimage, visited by Henry VII. After the chapel was demolished following theDissolution of the Monasteries, a house called St. Ann's was built at the site by Thomas Avery in the mid-17th century. During the 18th and 19th century Brislington contained many country homes due to its reputation as a picturesque country village. By the early 20th century it was encompassed by Bristol, and much urban housing and industry developed.
United Reform Church
Churches in Brislington include St Lukes which dates from the 15th century and includes a bell dating from 1766 and made by Thomas Bilbie of the Bilbie family, St Cuthberts, Carmel Christian Centre, St Christophers and the United Reform Church.
Brislington used to have a station on the Bristol and North Somerset Railway later the Great Western Railway that linked the city with the towns of the Somerset coalfield. The line opened in 1873 and was closed to passenger traffic in 1959, with freight services withdrawn in the mid 1960s.
In the early 21st century, Brislingtonrsquo;s paint works was converted to studios, offices and houses, home to arts and media organisations.
Information from Wikipedia
Member No: R070